Kansas State University


E C E Uplink

Month: May 2016

Engineering, computer science, finance students earn SHIELD Scholarships from Phillips 66

Phillips 66 and Kansas State University have selected the new SHIELD Scholars for the 2016-2017 academic year.

The SHIELD Scholarship, sponsored by Phillips 66, is available for students in select majors in the College of Business Administration or the College of Engineering and who have an interest in the energy industry. SHIELD Scholars receive $3,500 annually in scholarship money. Additional funding is provided for enrichment activities to help develop the scholars as students, young professionals and contributing members of the community.

Mentoring relationships with Phillips 66 professionals also are developed. The scholarship is renewable as long as the student meets the 3.25 minimum GPA requirement and participates in enrichment activities.

Congrats to Hunter Dellere (senior) for receiving this scholarship!

Robert I‐Jen and Sophia Shui‐Kan Jung Graduate Scholarship in Engineering for Returning Students

Jung Graduate Scholarship Recipients 2015-2016 Jung Graduate Scholarship recipients (l to r): Youjie Xu, Ph.D. student in biological and agricultural engineering; Fan Zeng, Ph.D. student in chemical engineering; Haotian Wu, Ph.D. student in electrical engineering; Puxuan Li, Ph.D. student in mechanical engineering; Associate Dean Noel Schulz; Kan Chen, Ph.D. student in electrical engineering; Songnian Zhao, Ph.D. student in industrial engineering; Kaiming Bi, Ph.D. student in industrial engineering; and Xingdong Wu, MS student in industrial engineering

Congratulations to Haotian Wu and Kan Chen for receiving these scholarships!

Distinguished Faculty Award

andrysEta Kappa Nu (HKN), the electrical and computer engineering honor society, is pleased to announce that the 2016 ECE Distinguished Faculty Award Recipient is Dr. Andrew Rys. All students in the department were given the opportunity to vote on professors in the department and Dr. Rys received the most votes. He was presented with the award last night at the HKN and IEEE Spring Feast.


Continue reading “Distinguished Faculty Award”

Undergraduate Student wins Research Experience Award

Whitney Cox, senior in Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been awarded an Undergraduate Research Experience Award from the Engineering Research and Graduate Programs office for the 2016-2017 academic school year. Whitney’s research adviser is Dr. Punit Prakash. The title of her research project will be “Evaluation of directional microwave ablation antennas in an in vivo animal model.”