Kansas State University


E C E Uplink

Congratulations to Damian Loya ECE’s newest Steel Ring Member!

MANHATTAN — Twenty-two new members of the Kansas State University College of Engineering Steel Ring Honor Society were recently inducted for the upcoming academic year. Electrical and Computer Engineering congratulates Damian Loya on his initiation into Steel Ring!

Steel Ring is an honorary comprised of seniors in the College of Engineering. Membership is based on leadership, scholarship, and engagement. New members are selected by current members of Steel Ring following a written application and personal interview process.

One of the group’s primary tasks each year is planning and organizing the College of Engineering Open House in the spring semester. During the recent 2017 Open House, the inductees shadowed current members to learn the roles and responsibilities of the organization for the annual event.

Faculty adviser for the group is Craig Wanklyn, assistant dean for recruitment in the College of Engineering.

The following students, who will be seniors in the 2017-2018 academic year, are new members of Steel Ring:

Megan Kohman, chemical engineering, and Shane Maloney, construction science management, both from Andover; Kevin Beashore, computer science, Bonner Springs; Damian Loya, electrical engineering, Dodge City.

From Greater Kansas City: Anna Kucera, biological systems engineering, Kansas City; Joy Hauser, computer science, Olathe; Jack Ayres, chemical engineering, and Lily Johnson, industrial engineering, both from Overland Park; and Anna Pyle, industrial engineering, Shawnee.

Stacy Rottinghaus, biological systems engineering, Hutchinson; Cassidy Harper, industrial engineering, Manhattan; Devon Ronsse, chemical engineering, Marquette; Tricia Schmitz, computer science, Marysville; Mariah Brown, biological systems engineering, Valley Center; Jay Disberger, architectural engineering, Wamego; and Rebecca Andrus, civil engineering, and Olivia Baalman, computer science, both from Wichita.

From out of state: Aoife Callanan, architectural engineering, Barrington, Illinois; Megan Clapp, chemical engineering, Champaign, Illinois; Claire Fisher, industrial engineering, Kansas City, Missouri; Casey Bertelsman, architectural engineering, St. Louis, Missouri; and Trevyn Sell, architectural engineering, Carrollton, Texas.