Kansas State University


E C E Uplink

College of Engineering students attend fall 2016 Engineering Leadership and Innovation program kickoff event

By Elizabeth Gibisch

Twenty-one College of Engineering students met for the kickoff event of the Engineering Leadership and Innovation, or ELI, program Aug. 29 in Engineering Hall.

Continue reading “College of Engineering students attend fall 2016 Engineering Leadership and Innovation program kickoff event”

Fall 2016 All University Career Fair

career-fair-16-003Every fall our students attend the All-University Career Fair.  They visit with more than 300 employers for career, internship, and co-op positions.  This event is vital to students to connect with industry employers and give them their resumes.  Events like these have led to our students being hired to many diverse companies.


This three day event started on Tuesday shennanigans-su2016-005Sept 20, 2016 and included a banquet on Wednesday, that many of our Electrical and Computer Engineering students attended.

Electrical and computer engineering professor presents at international conference

Mirafzal presenting at the PEDG 2016

Behrooz Mirafzal, associate professor in the electrical and computer engineering department, served as a session chair and presented two papers at the International Conference on Power Electronics for Distributed Generation Systems, June 27–30, in Vancouver, Canada.

The international symposium, sponsored by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ Power Electronics Society and organized by the Power Electronics Society Technical Committee on Sustainable Energy Systems, allows experts in power electronics and distributed generation to meet, exchange ideas and present on the latest technical advances.

Soldan honored with distinguished service award

20080806_dave_soldan_0001By Mary Rankin

David Soldan, professor of electrical and computer engineering at Kansas State University, has been named recipient of the 2016 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers-Eta Kappa Nu Distinguished Service Award.
He will accept the award in November at the 2016 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Educational Activities Board Award Ceremonies in New Brunswick, New Jersey.

The distinguished service award was initiated in 1971 to recognize members who have devoted years of service to Eta Kappa Nu, resulting in significant benefits to all of the society’s members. The award is based on lifetime contributions to the organization and is limited to one recipient per year.

Soldan’s service within the professional institute includes the committee on engineering accreditation activities, computer engineering committee, education society fellows committee and the Eta Kappa Nu Board of Governors. He has been named a fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and received both its distinguished member and outstanding contribution awards.

His research interests include engineering accreditation and curriculum development.

Electrical engineering faculty member to receive Paslay Professorship

Cat cropCaterina Scoglio, professor of electrical and computer engineering, is the recipient of the LeRoy and Aileen Paslay Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering. The endowment was established by the late LeRoy Paslay, 1930 bachelor’s and 1934 master’s graduate of Kansas State University in electrical engineering, and his late wife, Aileen. Continue reading “Electrical engineering faculty member to receive Paslay Professorship”

Engineering, computer science, finance students earn SHIELD Scholarships from Phillips 66

Phillips 66 and Kansas State University have selected the new SHIELD Scholars for the 2016-2017 academic year.

The SHIELD Scholarship, sponsored by Phillips 66, is available for students in select majors in the College of Business Administration or the College of Engineering and who have an interest in the energy industry. SHIELD Scholars receive $3,500 annually in scholarship money. Additional funding is provided for enrichment activities to help develop the scholars as students, young professionals and contributing members of the community.

Mentoring relationships with Phillips 66 professionals also are developed. The scholarship is renewable as long as the student meets the 3.25 minimum GPA requirement and participates in enrichment activities.

Congrats to Hunter Dellere (senior) for receiving this scholarship!