Kansas State University


E C E Uplink

Tag: Clubs

Soldan honored with distinguished service award

20080806_dave_soldan_0001By Mary Rankin

David Soldan, professor of electrical and computer engineering at Kansas State University, has been named recipient of the 2016 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers-Eta Kappa Nu Distinguished Service Award.
He will accept the award in November at the 2016 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Educational Activities Board Award Ceremonies in New Brunswick, New Jersey.

The distinguished service award was initiated in 1971 to recognize members who have devoted years of service to Eta Kappa Nu, resulting in significant benefits to all of the society’s members. The award is based on lifetime contributions to the organization and is limited to one recipient per year.

Soldan’s service within the professional institute includes the committee on engineering accreditation activities, computer engineering committee, education society fellows committee and the Eta Kappa Nu Board of Governors. He has been named a fellow of¬†Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and received both its distinguished member and outstanding contribution awards.

His research interests include engineering accreditation and curriculum development.

Wind Power Competition

Team roster: Tanzila Ahmed, Electrical Engineering; Lawryn Edmonds, Electrical Engineering; Jacob Meyer, Electrical Engineering; Michael Banowetz, Electrical Engineering; David Plenert, Electrical Engineering; Timothy Sample, Electrical Engineering; Stephen Debes, Electrical Engineering; Connor Krause, Electrical Engineering; Andrew Johnson, Electrical Engineering; Sshangxian Wang, Electrical Engineering; Mark Ronning, Electrical Engineering; Armando Marquez, Electrical Engineering; Alex Thibault, Electrical Engineering; Broden Bowell, Electrical Engineering; Lee Evans, Mechanical Engineering; Justin Currence, Mechanical Engineering; Aaron Akin, Mechanical Engineering; Justin Mann, Mechanical Engineering; Ben Schmanke, Mechanical Engineering; Grant Ferland, Mechanical Engineering; Alex Ackley, Mechanical Engineering; Jared Baker, Mechanical Engineering; Tyler Schmitz, Mechanical Engineering; Fang Wan, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering; Matt Weisbrod, Mechanical Engineering

Team roster: Tanzila Ahmed; Lawryn Edmonds; Jacob Meyer; Michael Banowetz; David Plenert; Timothy Sample; Stephen Debes; Connor Krause; Andrew Johnson; Sshangxian Wang; Mark Ronning; Armando Marquez; Alex Thibault; Broden Bowell; Lee Evans; Justin Currence; Aaron Akin; Justin Mann; Ben Schmanke; Grant Ferland; Alex Ackley; Jared Baker; Tyler Schmitz; Fang Wan; Matt Weisbrod

Continue reading “Wind Power Competition”

The tradition continues: Robotics team earns ninth straight championship

plantboardThe simulated soybean field created by the Kansas State University Robotics Design Team for the 2015 annual student robotics design competition at the annual meeting of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

Continue reading “The tradition continues: Robotics team earns ninth straight championship”

Kansas State University again selected for Collegiate Wind Competition

13945330867_0acd224c36_oThe U.S. Department of Energy has selected Kansas State University to compete at its 2016 Collegiate Wind Competition, a biennial event. The university also participated in the inaugural competition in 2014.

Continue reading “Kansas State University again selected for Collegiate Wind Competition”