Kansas State University


Find Your Fit

Emily Interview

Emily is one of our newer trainers at the rec. Read more to find out her opinions on dieting, her advice on pre/post-workout fuel, and much more.

SN: “When did you start working here at the rec?”

EK: “I started at the beginning of October this year.”

SN: “And what made you decide to work at the rec?”

EK: “I wanted to work here because it aligned with the K-State school schedule, rather than a gym that wouldn’t understand my school schedule. Most places also require a year of prior experience.”

SN: “What is your major?”

EK: “I’m a nutrition and health major.”

SN: “What would you like to do with your major? Where would you like to end up working after you graduate?”

EK: “Job-wise, athletic training, but I am planning to pursue my masters degree.”

SN: “You currently have an internship, right? Can you talk about that a bit?”

EK: “Right now, I intern at Veneer K-State Athletics. I work with all teams and I have learned so much.”

SN: “Do you plan to continue personal training?”

EK: “For next few years, I think I will stick with personal training. In the future, if I can do it on the side I would, not as my main job though.”

SN: “When will you graduate from K-State?”

EK: “I am graduating this May of 2019. But I am taking a gap year between that and my Masters.”

SN: “Has your becoming a personal trainer/nutrition major affected your family or friends?”

EK: “I come from a family that is fit and active, so that’s how I become active. I always knew I wanted to work with sports and athletes, but not what I wanted to do with it. I didn’t know a direct path, but I wanted to work with sports. My friends ask for help a lot.”

SN: “Have you always been active then, growing up?”

EK: “Yes, I have always been crazy active. I can’t sit still, I always want to be doing some type of activity. I played volleyball and softball growing up, and I played for K-State club volleyball. It was a big time commitment though. I also did Co-ed softball intramurals too.”

SN: “What is your favorite form of movement?”

EK: “Weights and strength training are my favorite forms of movement. It’s what my body responds to the most.”

SN: “What is an example of a workout you do?”

EK: “I do a warmup on the stair master or something, and on a leg day, glute activation stuff, then resistance training with weights, then HIIT or sprints on treadmill.”

SN: “What are some mistakes you see people commonly making when it comes to fitness and nutrition?”

EK: “The big thing is proper pre and post-workout fuel for training. People just don’t know.”

SN: “What would you recommend for pre and post-workout fuel?”

EK: “I would recommend something high in carbs and low in protein before the workout. Maybe a bagel, banana, or waffle, 30 min to hour before the workout. After, drink a protein shake within 30 min and then water.”

EK: “I also take fish oil every day. I always take pre-workout or drink BCAA while working out. Other than that, I don’t take anything that speeds up the heart.”

EK: “Another mistake I see commonly, is protein intake going wrong. Either way too much or not enough.”

SN: “Do you have any opinions on all of the fad diets?”

EK: “Not a fan of the Keto diet. You need carbs to sustain your energy and brain function. Another is intermittent fasting. Anything that messes up homeostasis I am not a fan of. Most diets are not meant to be done for long periods of time. If they are, then your body will be so confused.”

SN: “How many clients do you have, and what have you been working on with them?”

EK: “I have two clients. We’ve been doing resistance training because they want to gain muscle mass.”

SN: “What is the hardest part of personal training for you?”

EK: “Pushing them to their limits is a hard thing for me.”







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *