Kansas State University


The Loop

Newly-Selected Class Leaders Prepare for Fall 2017

Last week, the Staley School of Leadership Studies announced the 57 students who were selected to serve as Class Leaders for LEAD 212: Introduction to Leadership Concepts for the Fall 2017 semester.

LEAD 212 is a one semester, two credit-hour course facilitated in two parts: large lecture sections of approximately 150 students, followed immediately by learning communities of small groups of 12-14 students. Peer educators, junior and senior level students called “Class Leaders,” facilitate these learning communities. Approximately 700 first year students will enroll in LEAD 212 for the fall semester.

A unique feature of this course is the use of peer-led learning communities, a high-impact educational practice for leadership development. Students selected to serve as LEAD 212 Class Leaders will facilitate small group discussions, lead active-learning exercises, create a learning community with their students, and perform administrative functions (such as grading, attendance, etc). These students serve as a bridge between students and instructors. They are motivated to help first semester freshmen learn the academic discipline of leadership and adjust to the K-State campus community.

Class Leaders began training last week by completing several preparation and training sessions, enhancing facilitation skills, and participating in service-learning opportunities. Several more training sessions will take place throughout the remainder of the semester, and a retreat will be held in the fall before the beginning of the school year.

The Fall 2017 LEAD 212 Class Leaders include:

  • Deneisha Abercrombie from Raytown, MO
  • Ashley Anderson* from Firth, NE
  • Taylor Anderson* from Prairie Village
  • Suvana Badgett from Valley Falls
  • Molly Banwart from Joplin, MO
  • Maren Berblinger from Buhler
  • Jacob Boyce from Leavenworth
  • Tori Burkhart from Strong City
  • Hannah Carlgren* from Newton
  • Josh Carlgren* from Newton
  • Adam Carr from Bucklin
  • Christian Carter from Excelsior Springs, MO
  • E.J. Charboneau from Lebo
  • Gabrielle Coleman from Madison, AL
  • Connor Davis from Ellsworth
  • Madison Degnan from Rose Hill
  • TJ Eccles from Overland Park
  • Larissa Ester from Mulvane
  • Jessica Franzen from Lenexa
  • Alyssa Frey from Manhattan
  • Marisol Garcia* from Wichita
  • Lauren Gay from Olathe
  • Amanda Goebel* from Wichita
  • Adrianna Gordey from Overland Park
  • Paige Gumpenberger from Derby
  • Rachel Herter* from Larned
  • Mackenzie Holcoml from Derby
  • Melissa Hollar* from Topeka
  • Kevin Hurt from Olathe
  • Adam Johnson from Palmdale, CA
  • Bailey Johnson from Boulder
  • Kelly King* from Topeka
  • Emily Klesner from Tyro
  • Elyssa Kohler from Wichita
  • Breanne Lombard* from Northwood, IA
  • Charday Long from Abilene
  • Rebekah Mally from Wichita
  • Lauren Mertz* from Overland Park
  • Justine Moore* from Manhattan
  • Chloe Nelson returning from Kansas City, MO
  • Paige Nickell from Manhattan
  • Madison Ogle from Olathe
  • Mackenzie Pepper* from Wichita
  • Sydney Peterson* from Bennington, NE
  • Katie Philips from Kingwood, TX
  • Emily Polston from Olathe
  • Madeline Salerno from Omaha, NE
  • Kennedy Schmitt from Clemmons, NC
  • Summer Smith from Manhattan
  • Sarah Steiner from Overland Park
  • Jensen Strasser from Manhattan
  • Loan Tang from Garden City
  • Kylie Taylor from Lee’s Summit, MO
  • Mia Taylor from Wichita
  • LeAnn Walker from Barnard, MO
  • Madeline Wilson from Manhattan
  • Rachel Wittry from Louisburg

* indicates students returning to the Class Leader position for a second time

If you are interested in more information or have questions on how to apply in the future please visit our website or contact Tamara Bauer at tamara@k-state.edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *